Sound advice for song writers

I had the great privilege of participating in a small group workshop about song writing, hosted by Simon Austin and Angie Hart prior to Frente’s Adelaide gig of their Marvin the Album 21st anniversary tour on Friday night. I’ve delayed writing this a few days, partly to eliminate the gush factor but largely to reflect of what I feel are the most important elements to me, expressed in my own words. (Additional points keep occurring to me while I’m out and about so there may be a follow-up.)

A big thank you to Simon and Angie for sharing their wisdom and encouragement with us. It’s helped me seriously question the doubts I’ve been hanging on to. It’s also made me feel brave enough to extract and record the goofy little nonsense song that’s been floating around in my head and upload it as my first original song to Soundcloud.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Spiritwalker

Myy husband walked into the room tonight to find me learning to play Spiritwalker and commented, ‘you know your relationship is in a good place when your partner willingly chooses to play this song.’ I’ve married into a love of The Cult,... Continue →