Spiritwalker

Myy husband walked into the room tonight to find me learning to play Spiritwalker and commented, ‘you know your relationship is in a good place when your partner willingly chooses to play this song.’

I’ve married into a love of The Cult, not having previously known of them. And what’s not to love? A hard rock band with great songwriters, old school Northern paganism, and a lead singer with a big voice and fabulous taste in hats.

This is one of those times you record something, not sure if it’s good or ridiculous or who you’re channeling but you know it’s all yours nonetheless. This was pretty much a one-take wonder, partly because I felt too bad for my neighbours on the other side of the apartment wall, but largely as an exercise in being happy with what I can bang out. Not getting caught up with making it sound right but instead going with it feeling right.

Recorded for the Twitter @coverschallenge #spirit song challenge

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

You gotta authenticate the positive

It struck me that my blogjune posts so far sound a little skewed towards the negative: I don’t know what to write Confessions of a reluctant blogger High anxiety that I thought it’s time to to something about it. I received some lovely... Continue →