It’s just overkill

I think a fondness for Men At Work goes with the territory growing up Australian in the 1980s. But their song Overkill took on a whole new meaning for me in my mid-thirties when I developed an anxiety illness. I suddenly seemed to become aware of how many songs are about dealing with anxiety and depression, about how prevalent these conditions are, and how much shared experiences such as this can help. Knowing you’re not the only one. Learning how to manage it has led me to feel strong in a way I never felt before.

Even though it’s sometimes scary to think the anxiety will always be there, songs like this will also be there to remind me ghosts will fade away.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Spiritwalker

Myy husband walked into the room tonight to find me learning to play Spiritwalker and commented, ‘you know your relationship is in a good place when your partner willingly chooses to play this song.’ I’ve married into a love of The Cult,... Continue →